The Best And Beloved Malayalam Music Directors Of All Time

The Best And Beloved Malayalam Music Directors Of All Time

21 Jun 18 @ 2:11 PM | By Amala

Anything that is ever said about a Malayalam movie, without mentioning its music is incomplete. Music and the songs have a very pertinent place in the anatomy of a film and the Malayalam music directors have always known that. They have over the years created music that is everlasting and otherworldly in nature and the copious legacy of film Malayalam songs passed down by veteran music composers like V Dhakshinamoorthy and MS Viswanathan adds to the pride of Malayalam cinema.

Most Malayalam music directors have composed for a huge number of films and with each passing films has re-invented their music and themselves. If a generation was infatuated with the magical tunes of Dhakshinamoorthy, MS Viswanathan and the like, the later generation was spellbound by the earthy melodies and the evergreen songs by Johnson Maash, Ouseppachan, and Raveendran Master who enjoyed a highly illustrative career and was known for distinctive styles.

The latest crop of Malayalam music directors like Gopi Sunder, Rex Vijayan, Shaan Rahman, and Prashant Pillai who are indeed the tops names in the industry right now likes to venture into the less trodden paths in the music. Their music and songs are often experimental, medley and often daring. Well, here is our list of the best and beloved music composers of Malayalam film industry.

    • Vishal Bhardwaj

    • Andrea Jeremiah

    • Shakthikanth Karthick

    • Mohan Sithara

    • Mejo Joseph

    • K. J. Yesudas

    • Bijibal

    • Ifthi

    • Ilaiyaraja

    • Leela L Girikkuttan

    • Saju Sreenivas

    • Devi Sri Prasad

    • Kailas Menon

    • Jassie Gift

    • G Venugopal

    • Shaan Rahman

    • Vivek Sagar

    • Sanjeev Thomas (Sanjeev T)

    • Anil Johnson

    • Gopi Sunder

    • Isaac Thomas Kottukapally

    • Prashant Pillai

    • Sayanora Philip

    • Hesham Abdul Wahab

    • 4Musics

    • Arun Muraleedharan

    • Amit Trivedi

    • A. R. Rahman

    • PS Jayahari

    • Anand Madhusoodanan

    • M. Jayachandran

    • Sachin Warrier

    • Viswajith

    • Govind Menon

    • Sharreth

    • Jerry Amaldev

    • Ranjin Raj

    • Rex Vijayan

    • Emil Mohammed

    • Vishnu Vijay

    • Alex Paul

    • Jakes Bejoy

    • Berny

    • Rajesh Murugesan

    • Manikandan Ayyappan

    • Charles Nazareth

    • Sajan K Ram

    • Vidyasagar

    • Deepak Dev

    • Rahul Raj

    • Arun Vijay (Musician)

    • Anup Rubens

Latest Articles